About Us

The Alberta Mycological Society is a non-profit organization that was founded by Prof. Randy Currah and Helene (Leni) Schalkwijk-Barendsen in 1987. From the modest beginnings of the Edmonton Mushroom Club with a small local membership comprised of professional and amateur mushroom lovers, we became the Edmonton Mycological Society. We changed our name in 2007 to the Alberta Mycological Society in response to our increasing influence in all things mycological in Alberta and our growing province-wide membership and activities.

We are a member of Nature Alberta and an Alberta Poison Liaison link and a Volunteer Steward for the Poplar Creek Natural Area, near Breton. In 2006, we received the Parks and Protected Areas Outstanding Group Steward Award for our commitment to the Poplar Creek Natural Area since 1992.

We welcome everyone to join our Society and learn along with us about fungi. To become a member of AMS, please head over to our Membership Page to find out more.

Ongoing activities include the study of the diversity and roles of fungi, providing educational programs to the public, seasonal forays into the Rocky Mountain foothills and southern boreal forest, mushroom identification workshops, annual mushroom expositions (“City of Champignons”), development of lists of fungi from various ecosystems across Alberta, and an annual gourmet mushroom dinner (the “President’s Dinner”). Our premier educational event is “The Great Alberta Mushroom Foray”, held in a different Alberta location every year. This event is an extended weekend of mushroom-immersion: picking, learning, participating and socializing.

Board Members

Elected March 23, 2024

Our board members consist of hard-working volunteers looking to bring Alberta Mycological Society members a year-round fungi experience.

Rosemarie O'Bertos
Rosemarie O'BertosPast President
Karen Slevinsky
Karen SlevinskyPresident
Mel Hohn
Mel HohnVice President
Melanie Fjoser
Melanie FjoserTreasurer
Martin Osis
Martin OsisSecretary
Nadia Shiwdin
Nadia ShiwdinMembership Coordinator
Eleasah Wittke
Eleasah WittkeSpore Print Editor
Ryan Armishaw
Ryan ArmishawForay Coordinator
Paul Welke
Paul WelkeVolunteer Coordinator
Rob Simpson
Rob SimpsonDirector-at-Large
Rick Watts
Rick WattsDirector-at-Large
Elizabeth Watts
Elizabeth WattsDirector-at-Large
Christine Costello
Christine CostelloDirector-at-Large
Claudia Torres
Claudia TorresDirector-at-large
Ethan Zapach
Ethan ZapachDirector-at-Large